top of page

स्तन कैंसर

यह आपका सेवा पृष्ठ है। आपके द्वारा प्रदान की जाने वाली सेवाओं के बारे में जानकारी प्रदान करने का यह एक शानदार अवसर है। अपनी सामग्री का संपादन शुरू करने के लिए टेक्स्ट बॉक्स पर डबल क्लिक करें और साइट विज़िटर के साथ साझा किए जाने वाले सभी प्रासंगिक विवरण जोड़ना सुनिश्चित करें।


Types of Breast Cancer

Carcinoma In-Situ


Many Breast cancers will be diagnosed at an early stage called DCIS or Ductal carcinoma in-situ. This is a non-invasive type of Breast cancer and does not spread to other parts of the body. It does still require treatment including surgery, radiotherapy and occasionally hormonal manipulation but not usually chemotherapy

Invasive Breast cancer


Other Breast cancers will be diagnosed as Invasive Breast carcinoma. These tumours have the potential to spread to other parts of the body and include many sub-types.

  • Invasive Ductal Carcinoma- The most common type of breast cancer and accounts for approximately 80% of all Breast cancers.

  • Invasive Lobular Carcinoma- The second most common type of Breast cancer.

  • Inflammatory Breast Cancer- A rare type of Breast cancer that affects the skin and lymphatic vessels of the breast. The breast can become red and inflamed.

  • Other rare Breast cancers include medullary mucinous, metaplastic.

Breast cancer treatment is tailored to each individual person, their other health issues and their tumour sub-type, size, location, and their stage. Treatment usually involves a various combination of surgery, chemotherapy, Hormone manipulation and radiotherapy. These treatments may be given in any order and although traditionally surgery was the first step, we are now starting to give other treatments (such as chemotherapy or Her2 therapy) first in many cases.

Hormone receptor positive Breast Cancer

These types of Breast cancer are sensitive to Oestrogen and/or Progesterone. This means that they need these hormones to grow and hormone blocking therapy (Endocrine Therapy) may be used as part of their treatment.

Subtypes of Breast Cancer


Invasive Breast cancer types are further divided into sub-types depending on what hormones they are sensitive to. The 3 hormones that are usually tested for include Oestrogen, Progesterone and Her2.

    bottom of page